Our Heritage

The South City Chiefs were formed in June 1988 by founding members Lyn and Trevor Dean, Bill Maye, Bob McPherson, Glenn Michell and Mark Szolga. The club was originally based in the inner southern suburbs of Adelaide South Australia at Forestville/Millswood, to where it is currently at the Marion Sports and Community Club.

The Chiefs colours are red, white and blue and the official club logo is an Indian Chief Head.

The Chiefs have had a proud history, with the senior team winning one championship in the 98/99 season and were runners up in 90/91, 05/06, 08/09, 2009, 2010 and 2012.


We have produced a number of players that have represented South Australia and Australia and we boast to having the only player in Australian history to run for over 12,000 yards (Andrew Hurcombe).

Most recently the following Chiefs where inducted into the South Australian Hall of Fame:

  Andrew Hurcombe, Christopher de Mello, David Sedgwick, Lynn & Dawn Mayman, Shaun McKeough, Trevor & Lyn Dean.

We look forward to the future, as the club has a nucleus of veterans complimented by very talented players in their prime and an exciting crop of youngsters.